Sorry, this dog is no longer available for adoption!

Please see our gallery of available dogs.

#10147 Rome Apple

Adopted
Small-size, Female, Adult Terrier,

Tiny little dog seeks home-body human for extensive snuggles and time on couch. My hobbies include sitting with you while you read, watch tv, work from home, or make Zoom calls. Ideal human companion(s) would have lots of time to snuggle with me, and patience to help me learn how to be a dog in my new home.

I'm Rome Apple! I'm a teeny little girl at just 6 pounds. I look like a small Rat Terrier or Toy Fox Terrier. I may be tiny, but I'm an adult dog, and am estimated to be around 4 years old.

I was recently rescued from a puppy mill, where I was used to breed puppies and was kept in a small cage. Until I was rescued, I had never lived in a house or done the normal things family dogs get to do. That means that everything about being a loved pet is new to me, and things you take for granted can be scary for me.

I'm a sweet girl but am currently a bit shy and am learning how to live in a home. Even though I am a little skittish, my absolute favorite thing is to sleep on my foster mom's lap, wrapped up in a blanket. That's when I feel the most safe and happy. My ideal adopter would want to sit and cuddle with me all the time! My foster mom says I am the best working from home companion she could ever hope to find!

I am learning how to walk on a leash and am gaining confidence out on walks. I like to sniff, but the world can be a bit scary, and I get cold easily. I still do best on quiet streets, but I am doing better every day.

I'm also working on potty training in my foster home, but it is a work in progress. Since I've never lived in a house before, it is going to take me a little longer to get the idea. After a few weeks in my foster home I am making progress, and as long as we follow the schedule I go outside pretty consistently. Because potty training is new to me though, I will need adopters who are patient and understand that I may never be 100% perfect, and that accidents are likely as I transition to a new home and learn a new routine.

Even though I'm not used to living in a home, I have not been destructive. I sometimes want to chew on strings, or pens, or hair ties, but I am very happy if you give me a toy instead. I have a little bit of a mischievous streak and when I get comfortable I do like to run and play a bit. I also have opinions about everything and will bark at my foster mom if she doesn't do what I want (which is sit on the couch and cuddle me). She says I am 6 pounds of bossiness!

Due to my skittishness at sudden movements and loud noises, I am best in a quieter home without small children. I am also best suited for an adopter with some dog experience. I'm looking for a home with someone who is home a lot and wants to snuggle me, and who will be patient with me as I learn the ropes. Could that be you? Apply today!

This dog tested positive for heartworm disease before arriving to the rescue. Heartworm disease is transmitted to a dog through a bite from an infected mosquito producing a positive test in six months. OPH will treat the dog and provide two weeks of recovery time prior to adoption. Potential adopters will receive detailed information on the disease and their role in completing the recovery process from OPH’s heartworm coordinator. With monthly preventatives, the disease is completely preventable.
Read more about heartworm disease here here

Rome Apple is up-to-date on her vaccinations and has been spayed. Rome Apple is currently being fostered in Alexandria, VA.

This dog's bio is based off the experiences of the foster and/or volunteers of OPH as well as any information that we received from the shelter or previous owner. This is very important because it means that while they may act one way in the foster’s home, you may experience something different in your home.