Sorry, this dog is no longer available for adoption!

Please see our gallery of available dogs.

#11172 Chess

Adopted
Medium-size, Female, Young Labrador Retriever x Terrier,

My name is Chess in OPH land but my foster family calls me Chelsea. I’m part of the Board Game themed transport that arrived in Virginia way back on September 8th.

Why am I just looking for my forever family now you may wonder, that's easy to explain. When I arrived to OPH I was scared of SO many things. I was labeled "semi-feral" in the shelter but my foster family saw my picture and knew that I just needed a chance to find out what love was and how good life can be. The shelter also labeled me as a lab mix, I was a black puppy after all, but my foster mom thinks I’ve got more terrier traits than lab traits and I’m staying smaller than a lab normally would be at this age. It would be fun to do a DNA test and see what I’m mixed with.

When I arrived I was just 10 weeks old and about 6 pounds. Now I'm 6 months old, 25 pounds and full of life when I feel safe and comfortable.

I do have some unique needs that my foster family feels is not negotiable. See, some things might startle me still so I need to be in an environment where I am safe so....

~ I must have a fenced in yard. It does not have to be large but the fence must be secure. (This is becoming less of a requirement as she continues to grow in confidence daily, if you think you have a plan, let us know so we can discuss)
~ I also need another doggie friend. I LOVE to play with other dogs and need a doggie friend to continue to learn and grow. (again, less of a requirement but she does love to play with other dogs)
~ I need a couch. I love to spend time snuggling with my foster parents on the couch. We take naps together. It's the BEST!
~ I need a crate. It's my safe place, I need to know I can go there and relax if necessary.
~ I need someone patient. I'm not going to be a wiggly puppy who runs to you when we first meet but I will be in time. I just need to trust you.
~ I need toys. I love toys. Love them. I like to run around and play with them all day long.
~ I need time. I need time once I'm in your home to understand you are as nice as my foster family and that I am safe, loved and how things will work here.

I'm really a lovable pup who just needs a chance to settle in with my forever family to show you how sweet, funny, sassy and lovable I can be. Once I feel comfortable with you, you won't believe the love I have to share. I'm hoping my forever family finds me soon, it's my New Year's wish to start out with them for 2022!

Because I have been in rescue since September I am up to date on all vaccines, have been spayed, microchipped and have received my rabies vaccine. I now just need to find my forever family. My foster family lives in Nokesville, VA and we can't wait to meet you.

Chess is up-to-date on her vaccinations and has been spayed. Chess is currently being fostered in Nokesville, VA.

All adult dogs, cats, and kittens are altered prior to adoption. Puppies too young to be altered at the time of adoption must be brought to our partner vet in Davidsonville, MD for spay or neuter paid for by Operation Paws for Homes by 6 months of age. Adopters may choose to have the procedure done at their own vet before 6 months of age and be reimbursed the amount that the rescue would pay our partner vet in Davidsonville.

This dog's bio is based off the experiences of the foster and/or volunteers of OPH as well as any information that we received from the shelter or previous owner. This is very important because it means that while they may act one way in the foster’s home, you may experience something different in your home.